Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I consider myself a "True Blue"

Can I consider myself a "True Blue"

Figured this was a good time to post this since, other than spring practice, it is a bit of a down time.

So here is a little background:

I'm a 22 year old student at UCSB. My father went to CAL and graduated 75'ish, He was in Kappa Delta Row btw. He is the biggest Cal fan in the world. Football and Basketball are definitely is favorite, but he even will follow sports such as softball. Ever since I could remember, my dad was a fanatic football fan. I remember playing soccer games as a youth or going to my sister's games, and my dad would always have his little radio running the Cal games as we played.

As I grew older, I too became a devout fan of Cal athletics, specifically football and basketball as well. I watch every game and try to go to about 2 games a year. Since about 2007 I have been religiously reading these boards and also seem to be one of the few people to represent Cal on the ESPN college football boards.

The reason why I ask if I can consider myself a true cal fan is because I actually don't go to Cal. As some of you know, it is a bit difficult to get in these days. Unfortunately, I ended up having to settle with UCSB. The best thing about UCSB though, and the worst , is that we do not have a football team. So naturally I can remain a Cal football fan without ever having to worry about them playing my alma mater. I will even admit to rooting for Cal when they demolished UCSB and some of my friends at Haas this year (don't tell them).

So will you guys accept me as a Cal fan, or is it exclusively only to those who attend the university?

SacCityBear
    If you live in the state of California, I claim you as a Cal fan whether you know it/want to be or not, even if you have other collegiate allegiances. If you are a willing fan, all the better.

Active Bear
    Sounds like a True Blue to me!