Tre Watson On Paul Hornung Award Watch List


View Small TextView Normal TextView Large TextView Extra Large TextPrinter-Friendly Article

By Cal Athletics
Posted Jul 17, 2017
If by BearInsider Staff or Contributor, this article is Copyright © 2017

News Image
Cal running back Tre Watson
LOUISVILLE, Ky. -Cal senior running back/returner Tre Watson was named Monday by the Louisville Sports Commission to the watch list for the 2017 Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse.
The award, now in its eighth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission along with football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

Watson is one of eight Cal players currently on a preseason watch list heading into the 2017 season with the others Matt Anderson (Lou Groza Collegiate Place-kicker Award), Steven Coutts (Ray Guy Award), Raymond Davison (Allstate Good Works TeamĀ® Nominee), Devante Downs (Butkus Award), James Looney (Bronko Nagurski Trophy), Addison Ooms (Rimington Trophy) and Cameron Saffle (Lott IMPACT Trophy).

Watson has played in 35 career games with six starts over his first three seasons at Cal from 2014-16 and heads into his final collegiate campaign in 2017 as the Golden Bears' active career leader in all-purpose yards (2316), rushing yards (1307), kick return yards (657), total offense (1307) and total touchdowns (13). Watson is also coming off the strongest campaign of his career as a 2016 junior when he posted career highs in every all-purpose, rushing and receiving category when he had 1,156 all-purpose yards, rushing for 709 yards and four touchdowns on 143 carries while adding 21 receptions for 241 yards and four touchdown grabs. He also had 12 kick returns for 206 yards.

College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting will open in late September and factor into the selection of the finalists and winner, who along with his family will be honored at the official Paul Hornung Award Banquet sponsored by KentuckyOne Health and held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 8, 2018.

The watch list was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2016 statistics, career performance, SID recommendations, and expectations heading into the 2017 season. Profiles of each player and more information about the award can be found at For additional coverage follow @hornungaward on Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.

The Paul Hornung Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month from July 10-21. Sixteen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

New to The Bear Insider?