FYI... College Ave Safeway is dry

3,462 Views | 21 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by phoenixfive
Bears2thDoc
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Just in case some of you usually liquor up at the College/Claremont Safeway for pre/post game refreshments..... they are on ABC lock down from now 'til October.
Better hit up TJs.
Cheers!!
Go Bears!!!
75bear
This is where we often bought alcohol in college - it was a perfect combination of large selection, minimal distance, and good pricing.
Big C
How does one store in a large chain get on "ABC lock down"? I used to work in retail... curious about the details.
Bears2thDoc
Big C said:

How does one store in a large chain get on "ABC lock down"? I used to work in retail... curious about the details.

Lol!
I don't know the particulars, but Im very confident it involved Alcohol, payment and a birthday after August 5, 1998.
Yogi011
Bears2thDoc said:

Just in case some of you usually liquor up at the College/Claremont Safeway for pre/post game refreshments..... they are on ABC lock down from now 'til October.
Better hit up TJs.
Cheers!!
Go Bears!!!
It's all right, I'll be content with the water fountains on the East Side.
okaydo
Big C said:

I remember getting carded at that store when I was in my early 30s.
https://www.berkeleyside.com/2019/08/05/dont-look-for-liquor-at-safeway-on-college-its-license-has-been-suspended
Big C
okaydo said:

Big C said:

https://www.berkeleyside.com/2019/08/05/dont-look-for-liquor-at-safeway-on-college-its-license-has-been-suspended

I read the article... caught three times within the last year selling to minors. (I knew it had to be multiple times. There is a progression of warnings after each time.)

What I was wondering was, to what extent are other Safeway stores (all part of the same corporation) affected? They corporation must be getting fined, at the very minimum.