'59 Team Reunion (vs. Utah 1/26); '99 NIT Championship Team Reunion (vs. WSU 3/2)

1,380 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by The Bounce
EricBear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Staff
Cal will be honoring the 1959 NCAA Championship team with a reunion and celebration at the Utah game on January 26th.

In addition, Cal is planning a 20-year reunion of the '99 NIT Championship team for the final home game, vs. WSU, on 3/2.

Calbear80: please do me a favor and stay off this thread. Thanks.
75bear
Very cool!
SFCityBear
Thanks Eric. Do you know if the celebration will be pre-game, at half-time, or post-game?
SFCityBear
EricBear
Staff
SFCityBear said:

Thanks Eric. Do you know if the celebration will be pre-game, at half-time, or post-game?
I assume it will be something at halftime. Will check.

caltagjohnson
I will have to make that one. I graduated in 1960 .
bearister
I was pretty friendly with the late Bernie Simpson. He by me in Harmon and we were in the same parish. Very good man.
This was on the St. Ignatius website after he passed:

Bernie Simpson '54, former player, teacher, coach and Prep Hall of Famer
Posted 03/16/2018 07:37PM

Bernard "Bernie" Simpson '54, a former student body president for his class and champion athlete and coach, died Feb. 28 at the age of 81 surrounded by loved ones.

Born Oct. 11, 1936, in Omaha, he moved to San Francisco with his family and attended Notre-Dame Des Victoires until 1950 before going on to SI, where he played baseball and basketball all four years. He played 120s basketball for Rene Herrerias '44 as a freshman; when Rene moved to the varsity team, Bernie played for him the next three years, culminating in the championship 1954 season and a Tournament of Champions title. He also helped coach Grove Mohr's baseball team win the AAA title, the first since 1930.