VBall Cal seeps UCLA on the road

4,444 Views | 24 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by OBear073akaSMFan
wvitbear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I admit I had given up on this team earlier in the year. They lost to UCLA up here but reversed the fortunes down there. Have now beaten three ranked teams in about 4 weeks. Maybe someone who has been watching can explain the evolution.
SanseiBear
I'm no expert but after losing so many full-set matches in the conference, the win at Utah was huge. It convinced the team that they were as good as their opponents. Our two MHs are outstanding, they've used back attacks on occasions, and their serves, serve receives, and passing have greatly improved.
Schroeder71
*Breakthrough* victory for Cal women's volley ball! Three set sweep earned by the Bears in Pauley Pavillion over
#20 UCLA was absolute shocker! The team had lost six consecutive matches (including initial five in Pac12) and then the Utah road victory (per SanseiBear) seemed to begin a turnaround...Cal has now emerged victorious in 4 out of 6 conference affairs. Only one senior played off of the bench (Albrecht). Obviously-there has to be a great coaching job happening simultaneously! GO BEARS!
GATC
SanseiBear said:

I'm no expert but after losing so many full-set matches in the conference, the win at Utah was huge. It convinced the team that they were as good as their opponents. Our two MHs are outstanding, they've used back attacks on occasions, and their serves, serve receives, and passing have greatly improved.

Great to see. Followed the game on Twitter. The team has character.
wvitbear
How are their setters and Libero doing. I can see the kills and blocking have improved.
HoopDreams
cal really improving ...

wvitbear
The most conference victories since 2013.
OBear073akaSMFan
..but that was a terrible loss vs Colorado. These are the games we have to win at home but we were swept by them.
wvitbear