The Official Accurate History of the Ukraine-Russian Conflict Thread

3,877 Views | 54 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by Cocaine Bear
Apathetic Bear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
It's moderately amusing watching people take competing shots about a war that isn't even being covered by the corporate news media with live correspondents the way the Iraq war was and pretending that either side actually knows with any certainty what is actually going on. For those few who might care about the actual history of the conflict, this thread is for you.

Big C

That was pretty long, but I read a fair amount and skimmed a fair amount (maybe will read the whole thing soon). I took as the main point that it was a mistake -- going back some 30 years -- to be talking about expanding NATO past Poland.

I have been saying this here for the past eleven months. And that view is most definitely not incompatible with the view that Putin is responsible for invading Ukraine and that it is wrong. (In fact, the lecturer, Horton, clearly states that, as well.)
Apathetic Bear
Reference List (will update over time):

Charles Krauthammer on the Unipolar Moment
https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/opinions/1990/07/20/the-unipolar-moment/62867add-2fe9-493f-a0c9-4bfba1ec23bd/

James Baker Promising Gorbachev NATO would not expand eastward:
https://nsarchive.gwu.edu/document/16117-document-06-record-conversation-between

Quote: