Where is the subpoena from Mueller?

2,417 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by bearister
wifeisafurd
How long do you want to ignore this user?
This was about to get buried in the thread about Italian bridges thread since people in O'T are so fixated about Trump they can't deal with other issues. But someone wondered why Trump won't meet with Mueller, something he has no obligation to do, and as was pointed out, no defense attorney would allow (I'm assuming that is correct, since I'm not a criminal lawyer). (Note, Clinton was served subpoenas and then agreed to meet with Starr and his staff at the White House).

But that begs the question as to why Mueller simply will not subpoena Trump to testify before the grand jury to compel his testimony? Given that Trump's lawyers have argued (incorrectly?), that a sitting President cannot be subpoenaed to the grand jury, it may be that Mueller wants to avoid the protracted litigation that would erupt concerning the legality/enforceability of such a subpoena, and further, that is a set-up for an attack on Mueller that he has exceeded his authority to the extent he wants to ask the President about matter not directly related to the Russians influencing the election (which gets it down to basically asking Trump Sr. knew about the Trump Tower meeting and arguably, why did he fire Comey, and not much else (so things that Mueller looked at with Stormy Daniels or Mike Cohen, now become off topic). Remember also that Justice has said publicly that Trump is not a target of Mueller's investigation, so the courts may not be so easily swayed.