Addison Ooms Named To Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List


View Small TextView Normal TextView Large TextView Extra Large TextPrinter-Friendly Article

By Cal Athletics
Posted Jul 11, 2017
If by BearInsider Staff or Contributor, this article is Copyright © 2017

News Image
Sophomore center Addison Ooms -Photo by
BERKELEY -Cal junior offensive lineman Addison Ooms was named Tuesday to the Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List for the annual honor awarding the nation's most outstanding center in college football's Football Bowl Subdivision.
Ooms is Cal's only returning offensive player to have started all 12 games in 2016 when he earned the Bob Tessier Award as the team's Most Improved Lineman as a sophomore center. He is also one of only two offensive linemen returning in 2017 with starting experience from a 2016 Cal offense that ranked among the nation's leaders in several categories including passing offense (4th, 358.80 ypg) and total offense (10th, 513.2 ypg) while establishing single-season school records for pass completions (383), first downs by penalty (35), fewest fumbles lost (3) and fewest turnovers (15).

Ooms is the first Cal player on the Rimington Trophy Watch List since current Atlanta Falcons center Alex Mack was a finalist for the second consecutive season in 2008.

The winner of the 2017 Rimington Trophy will be announced live at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show to be televised by ESPNU on December 7, 2017. The winner will also be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 13, 2018.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy, visit of follow @RimingtonTrophy on Twitter.

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selected excellence. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their 2017 preseason watch lists over a 12-day period from July 10-21. Seventeen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.
New to The Bear Insider?