James Looney Makes Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List


View Small TextView Normal TextView Large TextView Extra Large TextPrinter-Friendly Article

By Cal Athletics
Posted Jul 13, 2017
If by BearInsider Staff or Contributor, this article is Copyright © 2017 BearInsider.com

News Image
Cal DL James Looney -Photo by Daily Californian
DALLAS, Tex. Cal senior defensive end James Looney was selected Thursday by the Charlotte Touchdown Club to the pre-season watch list for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy that has been awarded annually since 1993 to the most outstanding defensive player in college football. 
Looney is a national preseason honors candidate in 2017 for several awards honoring the nation's most outstanding player overall as well as its top defensive player, defensive lineman, interior lineman and defensive end.

Looney has played in 24 career games over his last two seasons at Cal as a 2015 sophomore and 2016 junior with 23 his starts during the period leading all active Cal players. He has registered career totals at Cal of 89 tackles, 11.0 tackles for loss (-49 yards) and 4.5 sacks (-26 yards). Looney picked up nearly all of his single-season career highs as a junior with 54 tackles, 8.0 tackles for loss (-38 yards), 3.5 sacks (-22 yards), two quarterback hurries, one fumble recovery that he returned 25 yards and one forced fumble, with the fumble recovery equaling the one he had as a 2015 sophomore.

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Thursday, November 16. The winner will be chosen from those five finalists and announced at the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, on Monday, December 4. The winner will also be presented live at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show televised by ESPNU on December 7, 2017.

 The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football, then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. He is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

For more information on the Bronko Nagurski Award, visit touchdownclub.com and follow @NagurskiTrophy on Twitter.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month from July 10-21. Sixteen of the association's 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

New to The Bear Insider?