OT: 50 years ago today

1,131 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by 82gradDLSdad
okaydo
How long do you want to ignore this user?

bearister
She got taken a block or so down from the apartment I rented on Benvenue (between Dwight and Parker…she was on Benvenue between Parker and next side street) after I graduated from 1976-1982. They left the SLA bullet holes in the front of her place for a while.
Cancel my subscription to the Resurrection
Send my credentials to the House of Detention
I got some friends inside
Larno
I lived a couple blocks away at the time. Students at that time will remember that reg cards with personal information for all students was kept in the administration building on Sproul Plaza in files. Anyone could go in and look up your information, which apparently is how her kidnappers found out where she lived. Needless to say this practice was discontinued.
chalcidbear
Drunk History is such a great series.
82gradDLSdad
bearister said:

She got taken a block or so down from the apartment I rented on Benvenue (between Dwight and Parker…she was on Benvenue between Parker and next side street) after I graduated from 1976-1982. They left the SLA bullet holes in the front of her place for a while.

One of my few Cal memories is these streets are where I used to park almost every day when I commuted to school. The years were the exact same as those you mention. Maybe I was a suspect.
wifeisafurd
Feeling old that the Hearst abduction was fifty years ago.

I lived close by as well, and on the 5th year anniversary, the news crews were outside where my walk to campus was interrupted by a reporter putting a microphone in my face. The reporter asked what I thought about the Hearst kidnapping, and in a rather sarcastic voice, I said I could care less. I was really annoyed and running late.