Attendance prediction for Davis game

1,144 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 14 days ago by Gobears49
Larno
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I have no knowledge of how sales have gone for this game, nor have I seen any comments. I would guess based solely on prior years that the attendance will be around 36,000 announced and 25,000 actually in the stadium.
I sincerely hope that I am wrong and the attendance is much higher. Winning will bring in higher crowds - will it ever get back to the peak Tedford years? It would take a lot of winning and exciting teams to get back to that level, and circumstances (like having every game televised) have changed since then. And those complaining about the tarps in the south end zone may not remember, or know, that there were tarps in both end zones blocking off seats during much of the Tedford era.
Cal88
Mid-30K sounds about right.

One of the high watermarks of Cal football as a program was the attendance for the 2005 opener vs Sac State, 65K. CMS was packed.

https://calbears.com/news/2005/9/3/207742783.aspx
Golden One
Larno said:

I have no knowledge of how sales have gone for this game, nor have I seen any comments. I would guess based solely on prior years that the attendance will be around 36,000 announced and 25,000 actually in the stadium.
I sincerely hope that I am wrong and the attendance is much higher. Winning will bring in higher crowds - will it ever get back to the peak Tedford years? It would take a lot of winning and exciting teams to get back to that level, and circumstances (like having every game televised) have changed since then. And those complaining about the tarps in the south end zone may not remember, or know, that there were tarps in both end zones blocking off seats during much of the Tedford era.

I agree with 25,000 actual paid attendance, with an announced number of 32,000.
bear2034
In a post Covid world...23,000.
bearsandgiants
Cal88 said: