Story Poster
Photo by Twitter / Curlee Thomas
Cal Football

2022 Cal Rush End/OLB Signee Curlee Thomas: Why I Chose Cal

May 31, 2022

My name is Curlee Thomas IV. I was born in Pine Bluff, Arkansas. I moved to Keller, Tx ( North Forth Worth) when I was 4 years old. I played football and graduated high school from Nolan Catholic High School, located in Fort Worth, Texas.

I started playing football at the age of 7. I also started running track at 11 and made the Jr Olympics In both the 100 and 200m events. I’ve also studied MMA, specifically Muay Thai and Jiu Jitsu for a few years.

I love the opportunity to compete. Football is the ultimate test of wills. There’s nothing more exciting than forcing an offensive lineman against his well and knowing there’s nothing he can do about it and sacking the QB is the reward for it. I also love the brotherhood and unity that’s built through the game of football. Having a group of brothers who all share the same vision and same goal of being the best at their crafts and winning being the ultimate result of that.

I am truly blessed to have received so many awards for my play. I finished with three-year varsity totals of 195 tackles, 53 tackles for loss, 35 sacks, 101 quarterback hurries, two fumble recoveries and six forced fumbles. I finished as Nolan Catholic’s all-time leader in sacks with 32. I earned first-team All-State, All-District 6A-D1 and All-Area recognition for my junior and senior seasons. 

I was blessed with 45 D1 scholarship opportunities and I truly appreciate all the schools that offered me. The decision to go to Cal was based on a lot of prayer and talking it over with my Dad and Mom. I had to ask myself, if I didn’t play football, what school would I choose? That school for me was Cal. The education is 2nd to none and Coach Browning recruited me harder than anyone else  Michigan St was close).