Rugby today

1,368 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by williamjv
chalcidbear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Starts off with reserve teams facing St. Mary's at 9:30am at Witter Field. Then we play Navy at noon. Looks to be a glorious day weatherwise. (But play will be televised on Pac12 Network).
edg64
BTW
What happens to Cal rugby after entering AAC?
75bear
edg64 said:

BTW
I really hope we're entering the ACC and not the AAC!
Eastern Oregon Bear
edg64 said:

BTW
I have little knowledge about the collegiate landscape of rugby, but the ACC had a short lived rugby conference from 2010 to 2016 when it disbanded. Since they don't have a rugby conference, I expect Cal rugby will continue on in its current arrangements. Many of the other Olympic sports are sticking with their west coast conferences though there are a couple that are already in other east coast based conferences that aren't the ACC.
Cal88
Good game today in Dublin, Ireland consolidated its the 6 Nations trophy this year:

https://www.sixnationsrugby.com/en/m6n/video/HIGHLIGHTS%20IRELAND%20V%20SCOTLAND%202024%20MENS%20GUINNESS%20SIX%20NATIONS
Cal88
One of the best games this year to conclude the 6 Nations tournament, France beat England in the last minute of regulation to finish 2nd behind Ireland. Lots of tries back and forth. Watch the try at the 0:47 mark:

https://www.sixnationsrugby.com/en/m6n/video/HIGHLIGHTS%20%7C%20FRANCE%20V%20ENGLAND%20%7C%202024%20MENS%20GUINNESS%20SIX%20NATIONS
Chabbear
Really good description of the game on the Navy website: https://navysports.com/news/2024/3/16/mens-rugby-mistakes-hurt-mids-in-loss-to-no-7-california.aspx
Dave75
Concise, comprehensive article. However, I find " The contest was briefly paused for an injury" badly understates a Cal player being taken from the field, strapped to a gurney, for an ambulance ride to a hospital.

Speaking of whom, are there updates on his condition?
TomBear