JollyBear;705112 said:
There is, I believe, an exception in the IG rule for the spike to stop the clock. It has to be done immediately after the snap. I was watching a game this year where it looked like the quarterback held the ball for a second before spiking it, and they actually called intentional grounding on the spike.
NCAA rule:
[INDENT]Rule 7 / Snapping and Passing the Ball
SECTION 3. Forward Pass
Illegal Forward Pass
ARTICLE 2. A forward pass is illegal if:
e. The passer to conserve time throws the ball directly to the ground (1)
after the ball has already touched the ground; or (2) not immediately after
controlling the ball.
f. The passer to conserve time throws the ball forward into an area where there
is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-II-VII).
h. The passer to conserve yardage throws the ball forward into an area where
there is no eligible Team A receiver (A.R. 7-3-2-I).
[Exception: If the passer is or has been outside the tackle box he may throw the
ball so that it crosses or lands beyond the neutral zone or neutral zone extended
(Rule 2-19-3) (A.R. 7-3-2-VIII). This applies only to the player who receives
the snap.][/INDENT]
What's really interesting is that the rule about being able to chuck the ball only applies to the player who receives the snap. So on a trick play it's still considered grounding, unless it's a wildcat. I'm wondering how often it gets called, since I've seen situations where a halfback option resulted in a player chucking it away like a QB would with defenders bearing down.
It's still legal to chuck it away from anywhere as long as there's no specific threat for a sack. You'll se a lot of QBs just scan the field and toss it away when there are no open receivers but also no defensive pressure.