Story Poster
Photo by Cal Athletics

Burl Toler III Named Running Backs Coach

January 8, 2018

BERKELEY – Cal head coach Justin Wilcox announced Monday that Burl Toler III has agreed to return to his alma mater to become the Golden Bears' running backs coach. Toler was a four-year letterwinner at Cal and began his coaching career with three seasons on the school's football staff following his professional playing career.

"Burl is an excellent addition to our staff who has been very successful as a football coach and recruiter early in his career," Wilcox said. "I've known Burl since he played on Cal teams when I was an assistant coach in Berkeley, and I think the world of Burl and his family. As an alum and with his family's history at Cal, he has a deep understanding of and a strong connection to the university that will prove important. We're looking forward to having him rejoin our Cal family."

"It's amazing to be back home at Cal," Toler said. "I'm beyond grateful for the opportunity coach Wilcox has given me to join his tremendous staff, and I'm excited to get to work coaching and recruiting elite student-athletes at Cal. I'm also thankful for the experience of working with the coaches and players at Fresno State and UC Davis. Those experiences have prepared me for this unbelievable opportunity at my alma mater."

Toler played wide receiver at Cal from 2001-04, helping the Bears to an Insight Bowl victory and a Holiday Bowl appearance in his final two seasons. He compiled career totals of 69 receptions for 873 yards receiving and four touchdowns. Toler was Cal's second-leading receiver as a 2003 junior with 48 catches for 609 yards receiving to go along with three scoring grabs. He completed his junior campaign by hauling in a team-high six passes for 84 yards in a 52-49 victory over Virginia Tech in the Insight Bowl.