How Stubhub almost made me miss the Redbox Bowl

8,544 Views | 24 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by ColoradoBear
LMK5
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I've been using Stubhub for many years without any issues, but this time was very different. On December 13th I bought 2 tickets in section C216, right at the 50 yard line in row 1. I paid about $150 per ticket, including fees. The Stubhub site indicated the tickets would be available by December 29th as a mobile transfer, a method commonly used these days. Not the greatest arrangement, but I have had tickets delivered fairly close to game days before, so I trusted them. Here's what went down:

On December 28th, I called Stubhub and told them I didn't have my tickets yet. I also mentioned that I was flying to the game early on December 30th and had to have tickets in hand before that date. They told me not to worry, that the seller was one of their biggest ticket providers. On December 29th I still hadn't heard from Stubhub. My account clearly said that the tickets would be ready by December 29th. When I called Stubhub again, they said they had until midnight to produce the tickets. At 10PM I called again and asked them what could possibly happen in the next 2 hours that hasn't happened in the last 16 days to produce the tickets? Again, they said they had until midnight.

At midnight, now December 30th, still no tickets. I contacted them by chat (only method available) and said their ticket replacement people were not in until 5AM. At 5AM, 1.5 hours before I had to leave for the airport, I called again and requested replacements. They wanted to put me on the Illinois side. No bueno. I settled for tickets in C213, but again I had to get them by mobile transfer. The agent called the seller while I was on hold and assured me that I would have them in 15 minutes.