Cal women's tennis upsets defending national champs, Pepperdine, 4-3!

1,708 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by LodeBear
Schroeder71
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Tennis Live Video - Pepperdine University Athletics (pepperdinewaves.com)

scroll down

Cal lost the doubles point and both #1 & #2 singles but swept the bottom four singles matches in straight sets.
I'm a novice fan when it comes to tennis but it appears to me that there's not a lot of difference between our top two singles players and the bottom four. The Bears are also without Jada Bui.
https://pepperdinewaves.com/sports/womens-tennis/roster/2021-22?&sort=class
GO BEARS!
coachdeke
Pepperdine lost to Texas in last year's national championship match. Texas is women's tennis defending national champion.
calbearinamaze
GO BEARS!!!!
swan

Great win for a Bear team that has been bolstered by the addition of two stellar freshmen, crafty lefty Katja Wiersholm and graceful Jessica Alsola both highly ranked recruits. Beating Pepperdine with their four top 100 players on their home turf is very impressive. Tennis fans should mark Feb. 27 on their calendar as the Bears host top ranked Texas who return virtually all of their top players from last years NCAA champion squad.
Jada Bui who played primarily at # 4 singles (and # 3 doubles) did not play at last weekend's Women's Invitational and also missed the Pepperdine match, She was with the team at the Winter invite so I guess she is injured. With Bui healthy, the Bears have 7 solid single players.

Schroeder71
coachdeke-I remember that Pepperdine upset UNC (ranked #1) after UNC eliminated Cal. Thank you for the correction.
Schroeder71
https://calbears.com/news/2022/1/25/womens-tennis-jessica-alsola-named-pac-12-player-of-the-week.aspx

Frosh Jessica Alsola was named Pac 12 tennis player of the week. GO BEARS!
puget sound cal fan
Impressive!
PalyBear
HoopDreams
I don't typically follow tennis, but their top team has caught my attention.