Men's Waterpolo Question...

1,080 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 7 days ago by waterbear
DWM81
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I see we are rated 6th Nationally, lost to Stanford 15-10. I know we lost a ton of star power from our back to back to back National Championship Rosters. *What's a realistic projection for this season? *Do we have any elite recuits in the pipeline for next Season...? I spoke w/the Rio Americano High School Coach. His AA player is going to UCLA. *Thank you in advance Gents...
Schroeder71
I am a novice MWP fan. IMO-the one thing that I have noticed this season is Cal's defense is much weaker than in the past three championship years. The goalkeeper and the overall team defense is lacking bigtime. Bears are losing games to Pepperdine, 21-20, for example. Cal can still score but appears unable to stop their opposition.

GO BEARS!
Sportsfanatic107
Unfortunately, NIL (Name, Image, Likeness) money is starting to influence non-revenue sports as well. This is where schools like USC, Stanford, and UCLA will have an edge over Cal. I've heard that wealthy UCLA alumni contributed funds to persuade a recruit to switch from USC to UCLA. I'm not sure about how non-revenue sports, such as water polo/swimming/soccer etc, will manage, especially since our new chancellor announced cuts to operating expenses and emphasized that all non-revenue sports must seek endowments. Top recruits will inevitably follow the money…
Polodad
I think the Bears final ranking will be somewhere between 4th and 6th. Both UCLA and Stanford hung 5 goal losses on us this weekend in our pool. That's a romp in water polo. As S71 notes the team defense is really suspect to date.
coachdeke
I think the Bears will improve a lot during the season and end up a part of the top 4. Going forward, Stanford is now recruiting internationally with UCLA getting the top domestics. I'm worried we're not breaking through in getting at least our share of difference makers.
wifeisafurd