Private property rights, ocean access and SCOTUS

896 Views | 2 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by bearister
wifeisafurd
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Figured I would start some off-season mayhem on this board.

Supreme Court Overturns Precedent In Property Rights Case. A Sign Of Things To Come? https://n.pr/2L7VFdk

Issues presented in the article:

1) SCOTUS is now going to start overturning precedence

2). Baring property owners from going to federal court until their claims had been denied in state court

3). The decision may have particular effects in cities and coastal areas that have strict regulations for development.. This is an obvious reference to the California Coastal Commission (CCC) which has often been hammered in federal court.

Looking at number 2 first, as a former practicing attorney I have to agree with the gravamen of the decision against a practice complained about by Roberts. The California agencies I represented often took "pre-judgement" possession of the property and then had all the leverage in the world to negotiate lower awards as the state court process dragged forward with a rather pro-government bias (it is not lost on the judges who signs their paychecks and they are appointed or elevated by a Governor who is pressing the government projects that involve takings), and that the only redress for the former property owner is trying to get before SCOTUS - good luck. Abusive process, that is constantly used by almost every state. That said, there are some practicalities that make pre-judgement possession necessary, like you can't hold up an important government project that serves a valuable purpose (using a California example relevant today, let's say one for fire suppression), because you can't agree on compensation. What Roberts is saving is why have this carve out when it comes to property rights if your federal rights are violated - you should have the same access to federal courts as everyone else. In the case of pre-judgment