Story Poster
Photo by College Football News
Cal Football

Uluave and Endries Earn CFN All-American Nods

December 4, 2023

Frosh MLB Cade Uluave and rs frosh TE Jack Endries earned 1st team and HM College Football News All-American honors respectively today.

Uluave took the country by surprise, entering Cal as a freshman middle linebacker in June, briefly switching to running back to bolster an injury-depleted running back corps then back to MLB where he earned his first start in game 7 against Utah. The frosh ILB went on to total 59 tackles, 2 ½ sacks, 2 forced fumbles including one returned for a touchdown and 2 interceptions for the regular season and twice earned Pac-12 Freshman Player of the Week as well as one Defensive Player of the Week awards.

Endries redshirted in 2022 and earned the starting nod at tight end as a redshirt freshman this season. The former Monte Vista (Danville, CA) prep hauled in 32 passes for 385 yards (12 ypc) and 2 touchdowns in the regular season for the Bears, providing a receiving threat at the tight end position lacking in recent seasons.

Freshman All-American Football Team Honors for 2023

Freshman Player of the Year
Dillon Thieneman, S, Purdue

Freshman Offensive Player of the Year
Kevin “KC” Concepcion, WR, North Carolina State

Freshman Defensive Player of the Year
Dillon Thieneman, S, Purdue

Freshman Specialist of the Year Award
Zachariah Branch, PR, USC

Freshman All-American Offense

Freshman Quarterback of the Year
Jayden Maiava, UNLV

Freshman Running Back of the Year
Jalen Buckey, Western Michigan

Freshman Wide Receiver of the Year
Kevin “KC” Concepcion, North Carolina State

Freshman Tight End of the Year
Luke Hasz, Arkansas

Freshman Offensive Tackle of the Year
Francis Mauigoa, Miami (FL)

Freshman Offensive Guard of the Year
Wes King, Wyoming

Freshman Center of the Year
Parker Brailsford, Washington

Freshman All-American Offense

QB: Jayden Maiava, UNLV
RB: Jalen Buckley, Western Michigan
RB: Jaheim White, West Virginia
WR: Kevin “KC” Concepcion, North Carolina State
WR: Eric Singleton, Georgia Tech
WR: Nic Anderson, Oklahoma
TE: Luke Hasz, Arkansas
FLEX: Zachariah Branch, USC
OT: Spencer Fano, Utah
G: Cayden Green, Oklahoma
C: Parker Brailsford, Washington
G: Wes King, Wyoming
OT: Francis Mauigoa, Miami (FL)

Honorable Mention Freshman All-American Offense

QB: Noah Fifita, Arizona
QB: Anthony Colandrea, Virginia
QB: Josh Hoover, TCU
RB: CJ Baxter, Texas
RB: Makhi Hughes, Tulane
RB: Jai’Den Thomas, UNLV
WR: Chrishon McCray, Kent State
WR: Chris Brazzell, Tulane
WR: Eugene Wilson, Florida
TE: Brett Norfleet, Missouri
TE: Arlis Boardingham, Florida
TE: Jack Endries, Cal
OL: Ethan MacKenny, Georgia Tech
OL: Chase Bisonti, Texas A&M
OL: Harris Sewell, Clemson

Freshman All-American Defense

Freshman EDGE Defender of the Year
Reuben Bain, Miami (FL)

Freshman Interior Defender of the Year
Peter Woods, Clemson

Freshman Linebacker of the Year
Anthony Hill Jr., Texas

Freshman Cornerback of the Year
D’Angelo Ponds, James Madison

Freshman Safety of the Year
Dillon Thieneman, Purdue

Freshman All-American Defense

EDGE: TJ Parker, Clemson
EDGE: Reuben Bain, Miami (FL)
DT: Peter Woods, Clemson
DT: John Walker, UCF
LB: Anthony Hill Jr., Texas
LB: Suntarine Perkins, Ole Miss
LB: Kam Robinson, Virginia
CB: D’Angelo Ponds, James Madison
CB: Jermaine Matthews Jr., Ohio State
CB: Raion Strader, Miami (OH)
S: Caleb Downs, Alabama
S: Dillon Thieneman, Purdue
FLEX: Cade Uluave, Cal

Honorable Mention Freshman All-American Defense

EDGE: Nate Johnson, Appalachian State
EDGE: Owen Pewee, UTSA
EDGE: Cameron Lenhardt, Nebraska
DT: Anthony Holmes, Houston
DT: Keanu Tanuvasa, Utah
DT: Paul Oyewale, TCU
LB: Taurean York, Texas A&M
LB: Ben Roberts, Texas Tech
LB: Jordan Hall, Michigan State
CB: Daiquan White, Eastern Michigan
CB: Jaylon Braxton, Arkansas
CB: Jerome McCoy, Oregon State
S: Peyton Bowen, Oklahoma
S: Jordan Castell, Florida
S: Cameron Epps, Oklahoma State

Freshman All-American Special Teams

Freshman Kicker of the Year
Alex McPherson, Auburn

Freshman Punter of the Year
Ryan Eckley, Michigan State

Freshman Specialist of the Year
Zachariah Branch, PR, USC

Kicker: Alex McPherson, Auburn
Kickoff Specialist: Robert Gunn III, Clemson
Punter: Ryan Eckley, Michigan State
Kick Returner: DeAndre Buchannon, Georgia Southern
Punt Returner: Zachariah Branch, USC
Long Snapper: Brett Le Blanc, Missouri

Discussion from...

Uluave and Endries Earn CFN All-American Nods

2,980 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 4 mo ago by BearInsider
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.