Arizona Game thread

6,658 Views | 66 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by smh
IssyBear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
stu said:

4thGenCal said:

Hoop Dreams - I enjoy your perspective on the Men's Board - this i my first post/questions regarding the women's team. A honest/pull no punches assessment for me would be appreciated. Questions: 1) I remember we had recruited two 5 star players (are they playing? if so an assessment) 2) The scores I have followed are showing an an outclassed (and often crushing losses) team with no wins, why? The HC is in her 2nd year and thus far no growth/progress has been shown - I ask because when the Men's team has been struggling, strong criticism was voiced. Note - I have not seen any games this season, but I was an former girls AAU coach and support our teams.thanks.
I'm not HoopDreams but I'll chime in anyway...

Previous recruiting misses and the coaching change left us last season with 4 seniors, 1 junior, and 0 sophs. We recruited 4 freshies, had the expected rough start, and finished the season beating some good teams.

This season's freshies include 1 five-star, 3 four-stars, and 2 international players. Last year's junior left so we have 4 sophs and 6 freshies (plus 2 former walk-ons). It looked like it would be another rebuilding year but we lost 2 soph guards for the season with injuries before the first game. Then we lost 1 freshie guard (the better one) for the season with an injury in her first game. So we're down to 2 scholarship guards, 1 soph and 1 freshie.

To put that in perspective consider how our men's team would look with only Brown and Klonaras at guard. No Bradley. No Foreman. No Hyder. No Betley. With Alters and and Thorpe and Kelly bringing the ball up against the press. I don't think many coaches would win a lot of games under those circumstances.