Where have all the student fans of Cal football gone?

14,012 Views | 118 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by sycasey
Bobodeluxe
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Many of the non international students look and sound like their international cousins. Some cultures just don't value concussions.
going4roses
Life and what it means has changed...

There have been great shifts in human perspectives and understand some positive some negative

JSC 76
OaktownBear said:

It's up to Cal to figure out a way to market it's revenue sports. Frankly, if today's students would rather join the hiking club, or kayak, or do online gaming, fine by me. It's their lives.
The problem with this laissez-faire attitude is that student engagement affects us all. More students = more excitement, which enriches *my* game day experience, attracts recruits, and engages a national audience. So it behooves us all to get student butts in the seats.

My background:

I was a student during the Mike White years. Attended virtually every home game from my sophomore year on -- I didn't realize Cal had a football team until after I got on campus as a freshman, so it took me a while.

I'd agree that student attendance has always varied wildly, and has always correlated to the quality of the team and the opponent.
CAL6371
Let's face facts in an old fashioned way - the stark truth. The majority of students are women they don't go to football games as frequently as men do. Most men on campus did not grow up playing football or have a friend in hs who played football, so they are not attendees in hs or college, many are from overseas or out of state. The football fanatic student-fans are at an all-time low. It is simple demographics.
BearlyCareAnymore
JSC 76 said:

OaktownBear said:

It's up to Cal to figure out a way to market it's revenue sports. Frankly, if today's students would rather join the hiking club, or kayak, or do online gaming, fine by me. It's their lives.