Coaching Candidates Thread

14,185 Views | 122 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by HoopDreams
Strykur
How long do you want to ignore this user?
As I said, I am back when I said I would be: https://bearinsider.com/forums/3/topics/87855/replies/1603808

So, where do we start? Didn't pay a lick of attention during the season, and our old pal Cuonzo is probably gone at Missouri, Tom Crean got ousted (again) and Bruce Weber packed it in, but who should we have mind this time around?
eastcoastcal
On a few other threads, there have been a few names that have consistently popped up- Gates, Golden being the most common. I am a freshman at Cal and thus do not know a ton about what has given us past success and what exactly the formula for success is at Cal, however I was wondering if any of the wiser people on the forum could clue me in: How imperative is it that our next coach has a connection to Cal? I understand it is always nice to have a coach who understands the 'ins and outs' of the university, but would an assistant at one of the more powerful basketball programs across the nation not like a chance to be the head coach for a P6 team? This is not necessarily a slight towards the aforementioned candidates, but rather was just wondering how essential it is to people on this forum that our next coach be someone with ties to Cal (of course, if the reason is that we don't believe we could pull a top assistant despite offering a promotion to a HC job in the Pac-12, then that perhaps reveals just how dire the situation is). Would appreciate some perspective! Thanks!
stu
As I mentioned in another thread I'd look for experience rebuilding a program which had been down.
diva1
Shanty Legans
bearister
diva1 said:

Shanty Legans

He is a traitor like Haase so maybe Furd for him?
Cancel my subscription to the Resurrection
Send my credentials to the House of Detention
I got some friends inside
Chapman_is_Gone
diva1 said:

Shanty Legans