The Non-Yogi Israel-Palestine war thread

189,447 Views | 2533 Replies | Last: 8 hrs ago by tequila4kapp
sycasey
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Big C said:

dajo9 said:

I have another compromise solution. Get out of the middle east.

I'm guessing that, at some point, Israel would be overrun. You're okay with that?

I'm doubtful. Many have tried, none succeeded. This includes the time before the US was offering any significant support.
Big C
dajo9 said:

Big C said:

dajo9 said:

I'm guessing that, at some point, Israel would be overrun. You're okay with that?

How come you don't ask about people being okay with Darfur being overrun?

Well, maybe if we had been talking about Darfur, I would have! Maybe multiple times!

Okay look, here's why I am a supporter of the idea of the state of Israel (admitting in advance that I am far from an expert on the situation):

1. Early last century the powers that be were kicking around the idea of having the state of Israel.

2. After the Holocaust, the idea really gained favor and ... voila.

3. Of course, it was done in "British Empire fashion" i.e. we can just carve new countries any way we want to because we have won the latest wars and have people who went to places like Oxford, Cambridge and Harvard. So, problematic from Day One.

4. Then, Israel hasn't really helped themselves with "the settlements" and all that, so while I am in favor of having a state of Israel, I frequently take issue with the Israeli government (especially lately).