Accusation of sexual harassment by Cal football

138,322 Views | 640 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by BearGreg
Fyght4Cal
How long do you want to ignore this user?
txwharfrat said:

socaltownie said:

25To20 said:

GMP said:

Sure, but as I understand it, it's Wilcox's job to go up the chain of command on something like this. She says she also emailed Knowlton. She also does not say when she emailed them. If Wilcox sent the complaint up the chain, he shouldn't be fired.
I am a manager, and if anyone in my company comes to me with a sexual harassment complaint, I will refer the complainer to the appropriate authority, and I will follow up with the appropriate authority to ensure the matter has been reported to them, and is being handled. To save my own butt, I will document all those conversations in email.

Also, note that the appropriate authority may not be up the chain of command, though it does not hurt to make one's boss aware of the situation. Especially in an organization the size of Cal, there is almost certainly an office that is charged with handling cases of alleged sexual harassment that is independent of the Athletics department.
+1. This is standard stuff. It is covered in nearly every SH training course I have ever had to....which I BELIEVE is MANDATORY for higher education institutions receiving federal aid. You can actually usually always get the right answer on the quizes by answering "RUn, do not walk but run, to HR".

and again, #protip - do not ever ask a women to "cover up". SMH.

I don't agree with that last statement. One of the most diffcult conversations I had to have was regarding the clothing that one female engineer wore to work in a open cubicle environment. It was an awkward but necessary discussion. It was a professional work environment and we needed people to dress professionally, not like it was a nightclub.