All-Time Cal Basketball Team

32,270 Views | 190 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by HearstMining
Jclay09
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'll only included players I watched. My list:

PG - Jason Kidd
SG - Ed Gray
SF - Lamond Murray
PF - Shareef Abdur-Rahim
C - Yogi Stewart
g - Jerome Randle
f - Joe Shipp
pf - Leon “The Show” Powe
sg - Randy Duck
pg - Jorge Gutierrez
f/c - Harper Kamp
sf - Theo Robertson

Also considered: Lampley (wavered on him vs Shipp. Very close.), Crabbe, Rabb, Ubaka, Mathews, Christopher, Weathers, Midgley, Tamir, Cobbs, Grigsby, Anderson, Carlisle

Not a lot of shotblocking but a ton of shooting, rebounding, and playmaking.
caltagjohnson
UrsaMajor;842835938 said:

I don't know about that; did you see Imhoff play?

Picking players at random is interesting. If you want to pick an all time Cal team, that would be 1959-1960. Pete Newell's NCAA championship team. I graduated in 1960 and never missed a home game. I have never seen a Cal team that played with such precision. It was like a symphony. Basketball style, Hands down, Newelll was the all time best college coach.
joe amos yaks
caltagjohnson;842865915 said:

Picking players at random is interesting. If you want to pick an all time Cal team, that would be 1959-1960. Pete Newell's NCAA championship team. I graduated in 1960 and never missed a home game. I have never seen a Cal team that played with such precision. It was like a symphony. Basketball style, Hands down, Newelll was the all time best college coach.

I was in HS (El Cerrito) in 1960, but saw Coach Newell's teams (1954-60) and I agree about their precision play and their conditioning regimen. I, too, think Coach Newell is the all time greatest.

Though it pains me to say it, the passing and ball movement of Coach Wooden's uCLA teams that followed was also very impressive and fun to watch, especially with G Goodrich and G Hazzard in the backcourt.
SFCityBear